Log in



Log in

Join | Renew 

2023 Eads Award Nominations Deadline is October 31, 2023

Click here to nominate someone who has made a dedicated and unique contribution to mathematics education as Dr. Tommy Eads.

Eads Leadership Excellence Award

Dr. Tommy Glover Eads, a former TASM member, served mathematics education as a teacher, mentor, supervisor and friend for many years. The TASM-Eads Excellence Award was established to provide the Texas Association of Supervisors of Mathematics with a way to annually recognize a current TASM member who has mad the same kind of dedicated and unique contribution to mathematics education as Tommy Eads.

Dr. Eads taught mathematics and served as the Technology Coordinator in the North Lamar Independent School District. He also taught for Fannindel High School, Paris Junior College, the University of Texas at Tyler, East Texas State University - Texarkana, as was Research Assistant at the University of Denver. He served with Texas Instruments as a T3 (Teachers Teaching with Technology) Instructor and workshop leader. Dr. Eads was well known for his work as an independent consultant in mathematics and computer education in the U.S. and Canada.

Dr. Eads' service in Texas includes the Mathematics Curriculum Committee, the Evaluation Committee for the mathematics exit level TAAS test, Advisory Committee for Mathematics Staff Development Modules, and the geometry/algebra/precalculus Textbook Committee, and the Exhibits Chairperson for the Texas Conference for the Advancement of Mathematics Teaching (CAMT).

Outside of Texas, Dr. Eads served on the Program Committee of the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM), and was a Director/Teacher for the Field test site for the National Science Foundation at Ohio State University. He also served as Director/Teacher for the Core Plus Mathematics Project at Western Michigan University and was a textbook author for Addison-Wesley Publishers. Dr. Eads was a Presenter at the International Conference in Technology at the University of Birmingham, England. He also presented at NCTM national and regional conferences.

Dr. Eads twice received the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching in 1986 and 1989 and was the recipient of the Texas Excellence Award for Outstanding High School Teachers in 1995.

Past Award Recipients

  • 2022 | David Surdovel
  • 2021 | Janet Nuzzie
  • 2019 | Tamara Ramsey
  • 2018 | Brian Bushart
  • 2017 | Jerri LaMirand
  • 2016 | Debbie Perry
  • 2015 | Faith Schwope
  • 2014 | Jennifer Hylemon
  • 2013 | Jean Frankie
  • 2012 | Caren Sorrells
  • 2011 | Jim Wohlgehagen
  • 2010 | Jacqueline Weilmuenster
  • 2009 | Cathy Seeley
  • 2007 | Patsy Rambo
  • 2006 | Susan Hull
  • 2005 | Bonnie McNemar
  • 2004 | Diane McGowan
  • 2003 | Barbara Montalto

© Wild Apricot teachers association. 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software